Basil Lemonade

For the past week I have been doing the Master Cleanse which is this cleanse where you drink a mixture of lemon juice, cayenne pepper, and grade B maple syrup for 10 days and by doing this you get all cleaned out and feel wonderful! I found, however, that I accidently bought FAR too many lemons and I had to find something useful with them before they went bad. The first thing that came to mind was lemonade….ahhhh lemonade…nothing to beat the 105 degree weather like a chilled glass of fresh squeezed lemonade. But then I remembered that I once heard putting basil and lemon in water is delicious and a slight spin to normal lemon water so of course my next brilliant thought was making basil lemonade (I’m sure  this thought is by no means original but I was pretty pleased with myself). So here is a perfect summer drink with a slight twist to normality.

Printer Friendly Version

Makes: 1 quart (I’m doing small portions so you can double or triple as needed. The pitcher in the pictures is 2.5 quarts so I doubled this recipe)

Ingredients:

1 Quart Water

1 Cup Superfine Sugar*

10ish Basil Leaves

1 Cup fresh squeezed Lemon Juice (it took 6 small lemons for me to get a cup)

*If you don’t have superfine sugar, put normal sugar is your food processor and grind it up and that does the same thing. You want the sugar to be extra fine because it dissolves better and doesn’t make your lemonade grainy. Another trick if you don’t have a food processor is to boil the sugar and the water until the sugar dissolves but be sure to bring the water back down to room temp before you make the lemonade or you’ll wilt the basil.

Instructions:

Step 1:  Squeeze the lemons and put them in a glass or plastic bowl.

Step 2: Combine the sugar to the lemon juice and still until dissolved.

Step 3: Next mix in your basil leaves and take a large spoon or cocktail muddler and crush the basil leaves.

Step 4: Add your water and give it a stir and you’re done.

The presentation looks great if you cut up a few lemons and let the slices float in the lemonade with the basil.

If you’re serving a 21 and over crowd, this is also delicious with citron vodka or gin. Put ¾ to 1 shot in each glass.

July 1, 2010. Tags: , , , . Beverages.

One Comment

  1. jennifer replied:

    We are finally getting summer!!:) So I whipped up some of this today. I must confess I was a little skeptical of basil in lemonade but it was a big hit. Yum

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

