Citrus Ginger Chicken Tenders

Have you ever heard that half your taste comes from what you smell? Well, I was washing my hands at a friend’s house the other day and she had citrus-ginger hand soap! Wow, it smelled so good. This got me thinking that if citrus and ginger smelled so good together that they might actually taste good together too! I figured it was worth a try and since I had some chicken in my fridge that I needed to use, I decided to whip up a quick marinade and see how it would taste. Yes, my husband is such a trooper for putting up with and eating all my crazy ideas. I served it with Cilantro Lime Rice and honestly…it was amazing! The taste of the ginger is delightful and fresh and with the citrus, it was perfectly balanced and summer-y. Hmmmm I’d bet you could use any combination of citrus…if you try something else, leave a comment letting us know what you used and how it worked!

Here’s what I threw together:

Printer Friendly Version

Original Recipe by Goodies and Guests

Ingredients:

10 Chicken tenders

2-inch piece of ginger (1-inch finely grated the other inch cut into chunks)

Juice & Zest from 1 Lime

Juice & Zest from 4 Lemons

Juice & Zest from 2 Oranges

2 Cloves Garlic

4 TBS Sugar

½ Cup Oil

Instructions:

Step 1: Put all the ingredients (except the chicken) into a Ziploc bag, close the bag and give some gentle shakes to mix everything up.

Step 2: Put the chicken in the bag then place in the fridge for at least 4 hours and up to 2 days.

Step 3: Put some oil in a pan on medium heat, wait till the oil gets hot then put the tenders on the pan, cover and let cook for 3 minutes. Flip chicken, cover, and let cook for another 3 minutes or until chicken is cooked all the way through.

Serve with cilantro lime rice and toasted pitas. Quick. Easy. Yummy!

July 8, 2010. Tags: , . Chicken, Dinner.

One Comment

  1. Cilantro Lime Rice « Goodies & Guests replied:

    […] Citrus Ginger Chicken Tenders « Goodies & Guests replied: […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

