Garlic Ginger Shrimp w/ Tomato Relish

My default meat is usually chicken. There are just so many things to do with chicken and I feel like I know how to cook it well so I fall back on it a lot. Dilemma! I love eating seafood but now that I live in Arizona, it’s hard to find restaurants that serves really good seafood at a descent price. So…when I want seafood, I’m forced to cook it for myself and you know what?! It’s actually quite simple to cook (not to mention so much cheaper and healthier than restaurants that seem to think you must drown seafood in butter for it to taste good…NOT THE CASE). Anyways, even though this is tagged as an appetizer, I quite often make it for dinner and my husband loves it! The relish this comes with really should have a post all of its own…it’s like a sweet bruschetta and the unique combination of basil and cilantro is so fresh tasting. I always make sure to serve it with chips or bread because people can’t get enough of it. I usually have all these big ol’ grand plans for what to do with the leftovers (because I ALWAYS double the recipe, so I figure there will be plenty of leftovers)…like sauce for fish tacos, or salsa to put in quesadillas, or to put in a omelets…but alas, there has yet to ever be leftovers, EVER! I guess that’s good, but as I peer in the bowl at the end of the night I can’t help but be a little disappointed even though I was a contributor to that bowl being empty.

One last thing then I promise I’m done rambling… you might notice that in the pictures I did not cook the tomatoes on the grill…that is because when I cooked them it was 115 degrees outside and I really didn’t feel like standing in front of a hot grill at the moment, so I used my panini press which works great although doesn’t char the tomatoes as much as a grill would.

Printer Friendly Version

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 1/2 tablespoons grated peeled ginger (2-inch piece)

3 tablespoons vegetable oil, plus more for grill

20 extra-large shrimp (about 1 pound), peeled, deveined, tails left on

6 ripe plum tomatoes, halved lengthwise…de-seeded

Coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper

Juice & Zest from 1 Lime (about 2 TBS)

1.5 teaspoon Powdered Sugar

1 tablespoon chopped Cilantro

1 tablespoon chopped Basil

Instructions:

Step 1: Soak 20 skewers in a pan of water for 30 minutes. (If you are using wooden skewers)

Step 2: In a medium bowl, stir together garlic and ginger.

Step 3: Transfer half of the mixture to a large bowl and stir in 2 tablespoons oil. Add the peeled, deveined shrimp, toss until evenly coated, and then cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Cover remaining garlic-ginger mixture and refrigerate.

Step 4: Heat grill to hot; lightly oil grates. In a medium bowl toss 3 plum tomatoes with remaining tablespoon oil; season with salt and pepper. It’s important that the tomatoes are de-seeded (click here to see a step-by-step HOW TO) or the relish will be far too juicy. Grill tomatoes, cut side up, (or if using a panini press, cut side down) until skins are charred and flesh is tender, 4 to 6 minutes. Be careful as you grill, as the juice from the tomatoes and the oil on their surface may cause flare-ups.

Step 5: While half the tomatoes are on the grill, chop the other half of the tomatoes into small cubes. Add tomatoes to reserved garlic-ginger mixture.

Step 6: When tomatoes are cool enough to handle, remove and discard skins. Finely chop flesh and add to bowl with reserved garlic-ginger, fresh tomato mixture. Add lime juice, sugar, cilantro, and basil.

Step 7: Season shrimp with salt and pepper. From here you have 2 options:

Option #1 (Pictured): Thread the shrimp onto skewers, making sure they aren’t touching each other and grill for about 2 minutes per side, or until they are opaque through .

Option #2 Thread shrimp, lengthwise, onto prepared skewers (going through tail and top of shrimp), one shrimp per skewer. (This presentation takes a little bit more work but the result is beautiful, long shrimp…as opposed to curled shrimp.) Grill until shrimp are opaque throughout, about 2 minutes per side.

To serve, place shrimp on a platter (if you chose option #1, take the shrimp off the skewers and if you chose option #2, you may leave them on the skewers) and serve with a bowl of the relish. Make sure to put an empty bowl out for guests to discard their shrimp tails.

Serving suggestion: the relish is sweet and sooo yummy. I would recommend doubling the recipe and placing chips or a sliced baguette next to the relish that way it doubles as a bruschetta or salsa.

July 11, 2010. Tags: , , , . Appetizers, Recipes.

One Comment

  1. jlw replied:

    Jess – Thanks for taking the time to share this recipe! And I love the option for grilling tomatoes on a panini grill, which made me think of the George Foreman grill I picked up second hand. Will be trying this today.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

