Chicken Caesar Panini

I’ve mentioned this before, but my favorite kitchen appliance is my Panini press. Not only can you make amazing sandwiches and desserts on it but you can also grill other things as well (like the cooked chicken for the recipe could easily be cooked on the Panini press, shrimp, veggies…) without going into the scorching Arizona summer heat. Well, when we first got married, the only salad my husband liked was Caesar salad, so it’s what I ended up making a lot for dinner. We would go through quite a lot of salad dressing and I was always trying new and different brands of Caesar dressing. One day I found Brianna’s Home Style Caesar Dressing with Asiago Cheese… I don’t know what it is about it, but the only thing better than this dressing is real homemade (and not to dis anybody, but I’ll bet it’s even better than some homemade kinds). My husband is a highschool English teacher and the topic of deconstructing narratives often comes up in normal everyday conversation, which got me thinking that I could deconstruct a Caesar salad and make a Caesar Panini! We add avocado and tomato because we love it that way and usually add both to our Caesar salads…but you, by all means, don’t have to since they aren’t traditionally in Caesar salad!

Printer Friendly Version

Original Recipe by Goodies & Guests

Makes: 2 Sandwiches

Ingredients:

4 Slices of sturdy bread (sourdough or whatever is your favorite)

6 slices of Bacon, cooked & crumbled (click here to see how to cook it in the oven)

1 Chicken Breast, cooked & shredded (try using this grilled marinated chicken)

1/4 Cup Parmesan Cheese

4 TBS Caesar Dressing (I highly recommend Brianna’s Home Style Caesar with asiago cheese)

1 Avocado, thinly sliced (optional)

1 Tomato, de-seeded and thinly sliced (optional) Click here to see how to easily de-seed a tomato.

Instructions:

Step 1: Take your 4 slices of bread and spread 1 TBS of the Caesar dressing on each slice.

Step 2: If you’re using avocado and/or tomato, put these on top of the bottom slice of bread.

Step 3: Next put ½ of the shredded chicken breast on each sandwich and the bacon on top of the chicken.

Step 4: Sprinkle the Parmesan cheese on top, close the lid and place on the Panini press for 4-5 minutes, or until the bread is toasty golden and the cheese is melting.

Step 5: Cut in half and serve.

July 12, 2010. Tags: , , , . Lunch, Recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Steve replied:

    I want this in my mouth right now.

  2. katie o. replied:

    this doesn’t help the fact that I’ve been dying for a panini press. 🙂

  3. kinguya replied:

    MINE!!!!! my panini! stay back. (GRRRRR)

  4. Caesar's Girl replied:

    Reblogged this on Caesar's Girl and commented:
    Looks great, definitely a must try

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

